Side by side
Ecovantage STC and Ecovantage vs: how to compare
In short
Ecovantage describes itself as a certificate creator and project auditing specialist with over 19 years in business. Fees, rates and payment times were not stated on the page we read, so ask for them in writing.
Ecovantage comes up in two kinds of search: “Ecovantage STC” from installers weighing their options, and “Ecovantage vs” from those comparing it with other providers. This page covers both. It reports what Ecovantage says about itself, flags what it does not publish, and explains why it belongs in a different category from a straightforward certificate buyer. We do not rate it.
What Ecovantage says about itself
According to its website (2 Oct 2026), Ecovantage describes itself as “a certificate creator and project auditing specialist” that works with installers to audit energy projects and “generate and monetise all Australian federal and state energy certificates”. It says it has “over 19 years in business and millions of certificates generated” across energy schemes, and its site offers an STC home battery calculator.
The self-description puts the emphasis on creating and auditing certificates, which is closer to the compliance and creation end of the market than to a pure buyer. How its monetisation works commercially is a question for Ecovantage.
What it does not publish
On the page we read, Ecovantage did not state fees, payment times or rates. That is common for businesses that quote per project. It does mean the comparison has to happen in an email or call rather than on a table of published figures.
“Ecovantage vs” what?
The right comparison depends on what you need.
Against a software platform. If you want to create and manage certificates yourself, look at the platform category; see Formbay alternatives for how one describes itself.
Against a buyer. If you want a published rate and a payment day, compare with buyers, including Emerging Energy and Green Energy Trading.
Against a mixed model. Some providers create, audit and buy. Ask them to separate the three in their quote, so you can see what each step costs.
Side by side
| What to check | Energy Merchants | Ecovantage |
|---|---|---|
| When you are paid | 24-hour settlement for established partners; first claim 48-72 hours | Not stated on the page we read; ask |
| Fees and deductions | Zero fees | Not stated on the page we read; ask |
| Rate | Published daily, locked on lodgement of a complete claim | Not stated on the page we read; ask |
| Who checks the claim | Compliance desk pre-checks every claim | Ask who reviews photos, forms and serials; not covered in what we read |
| Who you deal with | Named account manager | Ask; not covered in what we read |
| Backing | REC Traders, trading since 2004, Smart Energy Council member | Ask who the buyer of the certificates is; not covered in what we read |
Audits and why they matter
A provider that audits projects is useful if your claims are being rejected or if you are scaling quickly. Audits do not replace good job files, though. Photos, serials and signed assignment forms are what the regulator and any buyer will ask for; how STC audits work and STC photo requirements show what to keep.
Where Energy Merchants fits
Energy Merchants is a buyer rather than an auditor. It publishes its rate daily on /pricing/ and locks it on lodgement of a complete claim, charges zero fees, and settles established partners within 24 hours (first claim 48-72 hours). A named account manager looks after each partner and the compliance desk pre-checks every claim before lodgement. Settlement is backed by REC Traders. Some installers use an audit specialist and a buyer together; if that is you, ask each how the hand-off works.
Next steps
Request written terms from Ecovantage and any alternative, and put the answers in the table. If you are comparing several types of provider at once, what an STC aggregator is explains the categories, and our switch page covers moving work. For battery work, see the battery STC guide.
How we wrote this. Energy Merchants is a certificate trader, so we have a horse in this race. Statements about other providers are taken from their own public websites on the date shown above and are attributed. If something here is out of date, tell the desk and we will fix it.
Sources: Ecovantage website (homepage)
Questions
Before you decide
Is Ecovantage an STC buyer?
What does Ecovantage charge?
What should I compare Ecovantage against?
More comparisons
Keep comparing
Battery lease vs buy in Australia: what changes with the rebate
Leasing or subscribing to a home battery compared with buying one outright: ownership, who benefits from the STC discount, VPP terms and what to ask before signing.
Battery rebate before and after 1 May 2026: what changed
How the Cheaper Home Batteries Program changed on 1 May 2026: the new tiers at 100%, 60% and 15%, the factor schedule, and worked examples for 13.5 kWh and 30 kWh.
Battery STC vs solar STC: registration and claim differences
How battery STCs differ from solar STCs for installers: calculation basis, product and installer requirements, evidence rules, deeming and what to check before lodging.
Compare us on the thing that matters: when the money lands.
Sign up, lodge one claim, and judge us on the settlement. No lock-in, nothing to cancel.